Ngan Jones

"For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life" – John 3:16

Photography assignment 3

This week’s assignment is all about shutter speed. All the photos below were taken by the Canon 100D with the 18-55mm lens and under Tv mode. Special thanks are given to my cousin who had to cycle 100 times back and forth so that I could pick out those nice photos.

1.Frozen image of moving subjects

To capture a frozen image of a moving subject, a very high shutter speed is required. This photo was taken with shutter speed of around 1/1000th of a second.

Upload 4

2. Blurred image of moving subjects

With low shutter speed, the moving subjects are blurred in the photo. This photo was taken with the shutter speed of 1/30th seconds. Under this effect, it looks like my cousin with his bike was teleporting.

Upload 3

3. Moving background

With a low shutter speed, we can also make the background move instead of the subject. Similar to the photo above, this one was taken with the shutter speed of 1/30th seconds. The difference is that the camera was used to track the movement of the bike.

Upload 2

4. Frozen image of moving subjects

This is the same technique as the first photo. I used a high shutter speed of 1/800th of a second to capture Simon and Annabelle at a high point of the swing. However because I zoomed in too much, it wasn’t very clear in the photo that they were moving.

Upload 1

5. Drawing with light

This photo was taken with a very low shutter speed of 3 seconds. My cousin used the torch light from my phone to draw the hearts many times within the 3 seconds. I had to leave the camera on the table so that the image wouldn’t look shaky as the shutter speed was so low. Also we didn’t have enough time and had to take the photo during the day. Even I had all the curtains shut, it was still very hard to eliminate all the noises in the background.

Upload 5

Conclusions

There are all very nice techniques to learn. However after looking at photos taken by other people in my class, I realise I do need to improve my creativity to apply the techniques to other fun scenarios.

2 comments on “Photography assignment 3

  1. QIONG WU
    February 4, 2016

    I have a tripod,I think it can match your camera perfectly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ngan
      February 4, 2016

      Really? That would be handy. Maybe I can borrow it sometimes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2016 by in Photography and tagged , .
Follow Ngan Jones on WordPress.com
