Ngan Jones

"For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life" – John 3:16

How did I become a Christian?

What is my background?

I was an atheist, who came from a Buddist country. I was very goal-oriented and knew exactly what I wanted for my life. Everything in life went very smoothly for me. I had a happy family. I finished high school with good grades and got into the university that I wanted. I had never had a second thought that I needed God.

What triggered my conversion?

One day I started to ask myself what was the meaning of life? Why did I have to do what I was doing? What was the significance of this life if the end would be death? I couldn’t bear the thought that everything I was doing was meaningless and I got very depressed. At that time quite a few of my friends were Christian. They took me to church and talked to me about the possibility of God being out there. My uncles, who became Christian when they came over to Europe, gave me great testimonies about how God had changed their lives. 

What is meant by “becoming a Christian”?

Some people may think going to church means becoming a Christian. Actually it is not. Becoming a Christian involves going to church because it is one of the many things that Christian do. Non-Christian can also go to church. You only become a Christian if you have faith in Jesus Christ, i.e. the belief that he is God and he came to die for us, sinners. I will explain more in the section “What did I learn?” below.

What did I learn? 

What I learned was that indeed there is God out there. He created us. As our loving father, he definitely deserves all the praises and love. With my sinful nature, I was so blind and didn’t recognise him. He was angry, but he didn’t give up on me. He punished his son, Jesus Christ, in my place. Through the death of Jesus Christ, I, who deserve nothing, have everything, which is a perfect relationship with God and a hope for an eternal life with him.

Does it make sense?

I wouldn’t be able to tell the exact point when I became a Christian. I might have heard the gospel message from the very beginning, but I only came to understand it over a long period of time. I had millions of questions and I do still have millions more now. I will discuss a few questions below. I’m sure there are a plenty of good books discussing these questions. But I will only highlight the main answers that convinced me.

Does God really exist?

The alternate theory of our creation is that everything was formed randomly, rather than by a creator. Can you really believe that randomisation could create a sophisticated product as this world with all the nature, the living creature and human beings? More importantly, if you and I were randomly created, there is absolutely no meaning in whatever we do. I can’t really bear the thought of a meaningless life.

How could a loving God be angry and punish us?

Because he is a just God. A very simplified human example is that a child completely turns away and doesn’t want to have anything to do with their loving parents for no good reasons. Should the parents be  angry? Should the child be punished for their wrong doing?

Is it ok to just believe in God without Jesus in the picture?

The answer is a big NO! As it is written in the bible, Jesus is the only way for us to get to God.

Was Jesus a real person?

Yes, he was. Evidence exists to show that Jesus is a historical figure. There are a lot of historical records about him. In fact, he is also mentioned in the quoran.

What if my life is completely fine without him?

I used to think my life was great without God. God was for who needed him, but not for me, thanks! But I gradually realised regardless of whether I need him or not, he is still there and the judgement would be on me if I didn’t see him. 

How has my life been changed?

I would be lying if I said that my life was perfect without sadness or struggle once I knew God. There are still up and down moments. But there are certainly changes. These are some of them:

– I don’t have to work hard to be a “good” person. Jesus has done it all. I don’t have to do anything to be accepted by God. All I have to do is to know Jesus. God loves me not because of what I do. This really removes the burden from the pressure to do well and succeed in life.

– I don’t have to care about what other people think about me or whether they like me or not, as I’m loved by God, who created the universe. What else would I want?

– I have clear priority in my life, which helps a lot with decision making. Whenever I have to make big decisions, I pray to God for wisdom. I would consider whether my decision would please God. 

– I don’t have to worry about anything as God is in absolute control. I know he loves me and he wants the best for me.

I hope what I share is helpful. I love to hear about your experiences. Do let me know if you have questions or comments too.

4 comments on “How did I become a Christian?

  1. chrissy
    December 8, 2015

    wow, thanks for writing this Ngan! I am so happy for you!! I identify with a lot of what you said, especially not being able to bear a meaningless life.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ngan
      December 8, 2015

      Hi Chrissy, thanks for reading my blog! Yeah, I thank God that he let me see him. Don’t think I can live a life without meaning.

      Like

  2. in
    January 24, 2016

    Praise God for His having you meet those good friends who had shared with you how they too had come to know God. Hallelujah!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ngan
      January 24, 2016

      Thanks In! Thanks for checking out my blog. I praise God too. I shouldn’t be surprised but I’m so grateful he was patient with me and let the stubborn me know him.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 7, 2015 by in Christianity and tagged , , , .
Follow Ngan Jones on WordPress.com
